Today I got up after very little sleep, walked down to a local bread / coffee shop, had a cappuccino with LOTS of a chocolate / caramel sauce in it (apparently here cappuccino means "a really sweet caramel mocha") and then walked around a bit. Lovely place it is, a bit hot for me, but I expected that after acclimatizing to the cold in Reno already.
This afternoon, Maria and I went shopping for a few basic things, met her friend Renata for lunch, then met up with another friend of hers Nicole and her husband, and eventually ended up at a bbq (called a churrasco). Let me tell you, Brasilians do a bbq differently than we do. The main even is meat. Meat, meat, meat, and more meat. And it is flame roasted on a spit. The men hang out near the fire and tend to the meat while getting smashed on caipirinhas, and the women prep other food elsewhere while continuously making caipirinhas for the guys - all the while, throwing back just as many caipirinhas. Beer is in the general mix, too.
Then meat is pulled off the spit in small lots, cut up on a common board, and everyone eats bits of meat by hand, with bread, from that common cutting board. No one really needs a plate.
After a while, some guitars come out, and the music begins. Tonight, I started out playing a few American songs for everyone, and then switched to bongo drums while a couple of locals took over the melodies with a bunch of Brasilian songs. It was great.
Right now, It is 11:30 pm, and I am at the house of my hosts Carmen and Antonio. The place is beautiful! It even has a pool. I'll post some pix tomorrow.
Gotta try to hit the sack now. I'm tired all the time still, and I gotta get up early tomorrow.